12 hours of drone

November 14, 2008

On November 22nd, the good folks at the Upstate Artists Guild are about to do some iLLy shit! “A RIVER OF DRONE”, presented by the Albany Sonic Arts Collective will showcase some of the areas noise musicians attempting to perform a continuous 12 hour live drone performance. The show runs from 12pm-12am and will be a good one for sure. Musicians include Eric Hardiman, Ray Hare, Holland Hopson, Jason Cosco, Michael T. Bullock, Linda Aubry Bullock and hopefully yours truly! Regardless I’ll be in the house in awe.

The day before Halloween I went and checked out Lee Ranaldo and Leah Singer’s collaborative performance/installation “Space within these lines not dedicated” at Hudson Valley Community College. Lee ran from various rooms, swinging one guitar from a rope and just messing around on another, creating a full on sonic assault while Leah projected what appeared to be footage of a crowd in Japan. To top it off I got to meet Lee and told him I wanted to father his babies.

Still no official shows lined up for me to finished out 2008 (aside from a private house party on November 21st with Audibel and Tone Pony, and hopefully the River of Drone performance). I’d like to maybe get a show together around my birthday.. we’ll see about that.

After hearing a couple songs on the radio, being like HOLY SHITTT and finding out it was a band called Beach House, I finally checked out their two LP’s. Pfffft, so good. I don’t really know about I feel about the new Gang Gang Dance record.. gotta spin it a few more times before I decide.

Leave a comment